• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Period Instruments

Share/Bookmark

Period Instruments

Last week, I was fortunate enough to go to a mezzo-soprano Cecilia Bartoli recital. She brought with her a nice chamber orchestra, playing period instruments. This was the first concert I attended featuring 'period instruments' and could not help noticing how 'different' it sounded, slightly 'rougher' and 'rustic'

Which bring me to my question: Does anyone know what the (general) differences are between period and standard instruments? This was very obvious in the strings: Instead if the usual string 'wash', I could very easily pick out individual instruments. How can I get that kind of sound using GPO, or any library for that matter? Is it jusr EQ?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions...

Diego

Re: Period Instruments

Hi Diego, here's my opinion on it (be interesting to see what others have to say!). I studied organ and harpsichord at Oberlin, and did some secondary work on baroque violin (violin was my first instrument) so I've got some feel for period instruments.

Main differences:

1. you're hearing individual instruments (as opposed to the "wash" you mention) because there are usually FEWER instruments. Period orchestras, back then and nowadays, are nowhere near the size of the modern symphony orchestra. When I conduct period ensembles, I usually hire 5-6 firsts, 4-5 seconds, 3-4 violi, 4 celli (or a baroque bassoon), and violone (the period version of double bass).

2. Relative lack of vibrato. In much music prior to 1800, left-hand vibrato was used more as an ornament than a constant effect (as it is today). The full (and quite lush and beautiful) string sections in GPO would never sound like this by definition. You might be able to get something like that effect if you combined some of the solo violins that have less vibrato in the sample (I think one of them -- maybe the Guarnerius? -- has less than others).