• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: GPO used in film score

GPO used in film score

My name is Troy Sterling Nies, and I am a composer. I recently scored the film, "The Call of Cthulhu" by the H.P. Lovecraft Historical Society. It is a "silent-film" adaptation of H.P. Lovecraft's short story. the film was made to resemble 1920-30's silent-film style. In scoring the film, I almost exclusively used GPO. I thought the forum may be interested to hear GPO in action. DVD's and soundtracks are available here.

If you have any questions please feel free to post them here, and I will try to answer them to the best of my ability.

best regards,
    Troy Sterling Nies

Orcas Island

Re: GPO used in film score

Welcome to the forum!

Congrats on the film doing so well! I see that it won a few awards at the Lovecraft Film Festival recently (it must have been the music ).

I enjoyed listening to your music. 'Neither Dead and Dreaming' was one of my favorites. I like the suspense and what you did with the timpani and strings. You certainly did capture the feel of a 20-30's pit orchestra.

Thanks for posting the news. Great to see GPO used in such a fabulous project.

Gary Garritan

Smile Re: GPO used in film score

I'm pretty impressed with this music. It has that big "sweeping" type of melodic sound that you associate with the big screen.
    I also felt that the sound you have achieved with GPO, is very rich when it comes to the actual performance and the ambience.
    It would be interesting to know what sequencer you mixed the sounds in, and also the ambience used.
    I felt that the dynamics and all things related to a musical performance are of a really high standard in this score.
    Congrats. on a job really well done here.

Mr. Garritan, Mr. Martin,

Thank you so much for your kind words. To answer your questions: