• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Recording Giga in Sonar 4...

Share/Bookmark

Question Recording Giga in Sonar 4...

[First off, please be aware that I'm a noob at every sampling/sequencing/digital-recording process except for capturing basic ideas from my Yamaha and Korg keyboards into Sonar]...

I've now got more than enough raw material recorded onto the computer, and I'm ready to start laying down legit tracks in Sonar 4, using the beautiful Giga3 (Orchestra) instruments. Problem is, I'm trying to visualize how the data flow is supposed to work. Once GS3 has been loaded as the Rewire device, I thought all I had to do was to set a Sonar audio track's input to "Giga3", arm the track for recording, hit record, play my GS3 sounds, and bang - one track laid down. But as soon as I set a Sonar audio track's input to "Giga3" (and Giga3 Rewire 1/ Rewire 2), the little "R" (record) button (in Sonar) disappears, and the little audio symbol turns into a DXi symbol. I can hear all the awesome GS3 sounds when I play my keyboard, or when I have a Sonar MIDI file trigger the GS3 sounds. The audio meters are dancing nicely in the track - so all those connections are okay. But I can't yet record anything, since the record button disappears when I select Giga3 as the input!

I tried the Audio Capture method in GS3 (opened Sonar from inside GS3), in an attempt to have GS3 capture the audio [while a Sonar MIDI track triggered the GS3 sounds], but when I hit that record button it told me it was "waiting for MIDI loop", and it ends up recording nothing, even though I hear the sounds being triggered perfectly(!)

Anyway, I've followed the manual to the letter, I think, and I've searched this forum. So,... could someone here who routinely works with GS3 and Sonar just fill me in on which crucial step I've neglected? Thanks for any and all help.

- Beanie
    Last edited by Beanie; 10-27-2005 at 05:52 AM. Reason: to italicize and embolden one more word.