• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: What is your writing process??

Share/Bookmark

What is your writing process??

Hey all,

Hopefully this is the right group to post this is to. I've been a musician for a couple decades, but I'm completely new to composing anything for orchestra. I've ordered the Kennan book, which I think will help me out quite a bit.

But I wanted to ask, what is your composing process like? Whenever I wrote anything pop it more or less went like this...

1. Write chorus chords, 2. write chorus melody, 3. write verse chords, 4. write verse melody, 5. fill in stuff here and there, 6. done

So....obviously this really isn't going to work anymore, right? Say you want to write a piece that's 4 minutes or so in length. How do you go about it?

Thanks!
    John

Re: What is your writing process??

I've never written a pop song in that kind of format (chorus, verse, etc) . . . though I suppose I could if I really wanted to

First of all, I don't believe there is any right or wrong way to go about it.

Well, you know what? I had started typing a longer response, but I realized my process changes so many times with every piece, that I really have no set process! I usually do start out with a melody already in my mind, or some weird structure for the piece, but then as I start writing I focus my work on whatever I feel like I need to work on at the time

Some pieces I've planned out completely before writing, others I've just let it flow as I went along. Sometimes I've written melodies from harmonies, many times I harmonize previously thought up melodies.

So the process goes all over the place for me I don't think I could even make a list

Then again, I'm not writing for money or with much of a time limit for most of my music, so I don't really have limits as others might.
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding

Hi Mr. Smiley,