• Register
  • Help

Topic: my first demo at this board - please check it out

my first demo at this board - please check it out

the title says it all, i guess. so here is it, my first demo within the realms of this wonderful forum (somebody get me a bucket for all the schmaltz...)

i'm pretty new to orchestral styles and scoring for games, so i really, really need all the feedback i can get. this is my first ever orchestral piece, and i'd much appreciate any helpful criticism you guys have to offer, regarding more technical things like the sound of it, the panning, and of course musical stuff like the arrangement and the general composition.

the piece at hand was composed with a RPG in mind (a la morrowind), possibly for the mainscreen. it is thus much fittingly entitled RPG_Main_Screen and can be found

to download.

please tell me what you think in all brutal honesty. i can take (and NEED) criticism.

thanks for all and any feedback in advance.

Re: my first demo at this board - please check it out

I think you've succeeded in the composition and orchestration department. That's really the critical area too. I mean, if you can't write the music correctly then all the technical know-how won't make any difference. So, good job.

Little things stand out and sound like libraries. It's impossible to be completely convincing with orchestral libraries but I think if you put a little more work into it you could get that piece to sound more convincing. You could do this by emphasizing and exaggerating the dynamics. What you have now is really good and it's hard to get much better, but I think there is a tiny bit of room for improvement in that area. You obviously know what you're doing so all I could tell you is to focus a little more on the impact that every part is bringing to the piece.