• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Synthesizers complementing samples

Share/Bookmark

Synthesizers complementing samples

As most of you know, sometimes samples are not enough! Sometimes you need to bring out certain articulations that are simply not available in our current libraries or you are looking for a different color, but with certain familiar articulations (up/down bow, tongueing, etc.)

My question is: In synthesizer terms, what is the difference between an upbow and a downbow? Is it something that can be explained in simple sound design terms?

This morning I was listening to Switched on Bach again, and it is incredible the subtlety and nuance Wendy Carlos was able to get out of a late '60s Moog.

I'd appreciate any tips you may have

Diego

Re: Synthesizers complementing samples

I don't really think upbow/downbow can be explained in technical terms, then again I'm no sound designer. On my cello I can pretty much make a downbow sound like an upbow and an upbow like a downbow. A good cellist will be able to disguise his ups and downs very successfully. However a downbow typicly doesn't have the ability to have as much 'grit' as an upbow, but an upbow certaintly can too have grit.

-Chris

I would say that in general up-bows probably tend to be a shade less aggresive than down-bows but that's a pretty big generalization. They probably tend to be *slightly* softer and have *slightly* slower attacks, if I were going to try and put it in synth terms. Anyway, that would probably be a good start towards programming a virtual up/down bow. And I'd change the timber of one slightly. I'd probably try and make the down-bow a tad brighter if that were possible.

(Do I have my ups and downs backwards?? Should up be stronger than down??)

I remember my brother practicing the violin and it was all pretty gritty. We had to get beyond ear shot it was so painful. I can't remember why he took up the violin but it definitely was not his calling.