• Register
  • Help

Topic: How do you use GPO ?

How do you use GPO ?

I am still fairly new to PC .....How are you guys and gal's using GPO? ....Are you useing it as a VST instrument ? ....If you do this, I am assuming that you can now have seperate track's in a sequencer program for each instrument that you so choose ? .....
    How many record directly to the audio portion of a seqencing program ? ..
    What other programs would you use to run GPO, and how would you do it ?
    I'm not sure of the easiest , and best way to hook this up where I can record and playback track after track with few problems ...Right now I am running it stand alone to check out the various sounds....I'm getting ready to start tracking and I'm looking for the best and easiest way ....How is the Cubasis program that comes with GPO ? .....Easy to use ? ....Enough features to help me get my feet wet without feeling intimidated ? .... Just looking to get rolling here .....Thanks in advance ....This forum is the best !!.....Jim

California Redwoods

Re: How do you use GPO ?

Well, the only direct answer I can give is to use the VST if possible. Easier on cpu, less troublesome than DXi. Uses much less memory than Studio.

All I can say about Cubasis that ships with GPO is that it is not at all to my liking. Overture is better, and Joseph Burrell can tell you all you want, and probably more, about Overture. I use Sonar, and it does all that I want it to. But for notation, Sonar is not so good. For notation, it is Sibelius for me. You will find lots of strong opinions on which is the best way to go for a sequencer. I like Sonar because it is the only one I have found that does what I need, and although I admit there might be another, there is no good reason for me to change. Much depends on your preference and requirements. A good move would be to try demo versions before deciding. Problem here is that the very feature that I need to test is not available in the demo -- every time!