• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Beethoven Quintet in Eb

Beethoven Quintet in Eb

I'm just practicing using my keyboard, mod wheel and pedal and thought you might like to hear the result. Since we are buried in snow (yea, lake effect), I spent the day working on the 1st movement. My playing technigue is not so great on keyboards (rather be playing the clarinet).

Kind of a compliment to Gary and to myself...my wife opened my studio door when I was playing along with the music file (minus clarinet of course) to see if I was playing the clarinet or the GPO was playing all the parts. She couldn't tell the difference! (And yes, I am accomplished at clarinet...I have a Masters in Clarinet Performance from Northwestern University.)

Also when you go to my page to get this file, have a listen to my remake of a piece I did earlier originally titled Gypsy Quartet. It is now titled "Notti Tenere" (Tender Nights - at least that's what my Italian - English dictionary said it should mean ).

Thanks -- RichR

Re: Beethoven Quintet in Eb

I'm a little disappointed. I have had this in the forum for 5 days now and nary a response. If it's bad I would like to know and comments on what needs to be done. If it's good .. well praise doesn't hurt.

You did a good job on the Beethoven piece but it cries out for some good quality reverb to give it some life and naturalness! It is also lacking in high frequencies. They could stand a boost in my opinion.

Keep up the good work.

Larry A.
    Larry G. Alexander

Hi Rich...

I agree with Larry about the ambience Reverb issue.

Although a recent newcomer on these forums myself, I have the impression that renditions of masterpieces will be scrutinized much more than original works…

I would never attempt to copy a classic, but there are a few individuals here who do a fantastic job of GPO-ing classical works, perhaps they can give you a few pointers.

Hi RichR