• Register
  • Help

Topic: updating my Mac OS

updating my Mac OS

I've been using my G5 for almost 2 years now, and while it's still humming along great, I'm finding way too many crashes and too much instability. I really want to wipe my drives and start over, but I'm afraid I'm going to get stuck in a situation where I have my whole system down. Is there a way to make a perfect disk image that I could revert to before I do this opperation? I don't want to ruin all my authorizations I've worked so hard to get!!!

Re: updating my Mac OS

A perfect disk image will include all the flaws that caused the crashing in the first place...
    It's all about the music - really. I keep telling myself that...

Shelton, Washington State

You shouldn't have to reformat the hard drive in OSX. Make sure you are repairing disks permissions anytime you update your OS and it is good idea to do it once a week anyway. Also get a copy of macjanitor at versiontracker.com and run that once in a while. It does what OSX does at 2:30 am every morning if it's running then. That's when unix cleans itself and it also cleans things up when it boots. If you think your apps are messed up then a reinstall should work.

Soundsmith is right that a disk image of a system that's not working isn't much use. However, you definitely want to make an image before you start over, so at the very worst you can go back to what you have now. To be safe, start up from the image to make sure it's good before you turn the corner.

Now, you *shouldn't* have to do anything drastic in OS X, but nonetheless I had to copy over my back-up disk image one time. For some reason one of my monitors, the one connected by DVI, wasn't working properly. Boy was I glad I had the image.