• Register
  • Help

Topic: Thinking about a career in music - Need advice...

Thinking about a career in music - Need advice...

Hello my dear friends!

My last year was filled with many changes, relevations, tragedies and catastrophies... During all these changes I discovered how much I enjoy creating music and how much less I enjoy anything else. This made me start thinking about making a living with my music. I've got talent, so much is for sure. But I have no idea about the rest.

On the other hand I've been working for nearly 10 years on learning a different profession. I still can't shake off the nagging thought that I wasted nearly a 3rd of my life, going in the wrong direction.

All these thoughts keep making me afraid. Actually very, very, scared. I feel quite lost and desperate. So I decided to get over my depressions start finding out what my fate is. Doing something feels better than sitting around and being mortified. Now why did I start this thread in the first place?!?

I would love to get in contact with some other composers in Austria and talk with them. Is there any fellow GPo user, that would like to give me some insight in how "the business" works here in Europe or Austria? Or how their life goes?

I also would like to hear what you all have to say to these problems of mine. How did you get into music? When did you decide to take the plunge and go for it? How did you find out THIS was the right way for you? Where did you find the advice and support you needed?

All input is appreciated. I ask this question in this forum, because of all the people in the world I value your opinions, insight and experience as well as your friendlyness and kindness most. Please help me. This is driving me mad...
    Greetings from Vienna!
    My website: Above the staff.net

Re: Thinking about a career in music - Need advice...

Hey, Pete.