• Register
  • Help

Topic: Dealing With Delay

Dealing With Delay

I'm a beginner just starting to use EWQLSO Gold, and it's very cool, but I'm continually discouraged by the slight delay that seems to exist on the attack on most instruments. I realize a lot of it's due to the nature of the attack and envelope of the instrument (especially strings), but it just seems like it's more than just that. If it were just one or two instruments, I'd try tweaking them, but it's seems like it's on most instruments in Gold to varying degrees. Even the flutes and clarinets seems to have it, just slightly, but enough to throw off my timing, and after several tracks of this everything's just a little too sloppy, and I end up quantizing/shifting to make up for it, which bites. I'm running 6.9ms latency on Cubase 3 SX, and I don't have this problem with GS piano, or other VSTs. Is there something I'm possibly missing, or is this normal with orchestral samples? It gets really tiresome, constantly trying to lead ahead of the beat - I'm a bad enough player to begin with, I don't need things making it even more difficult!

Re: Dealing With Delay

I don't own Gold, but this delay is true of many orchestral sustain patches. Real players tend to have a measurable attack time, before the sound reaches full steam.

Try fast attack patches, like percussion, staccato and pizzicato. They should react very quickly. If not, maybe there is a technical problem causing the delay.

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar
    Dallas, Texas

Quote Originally Posted by buzzripper
    It gets really tiresome, constantly trying to lead ahead of the beat - I'm a bad enough player to begin with, I don't need things making it even more difficult!