• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Little money, need soundcard

Little money, need soundcard

I'm a student strapped for cash, but love music.

I have a *SB: Live! Value* soundcard.

After you're all done throwing up, is there a noticeable difference between SB: Live! Value, and this:
    SB Live! 24-bit

Is that decent for music production?

Are there any other cheap soundcards which would be better?

I know that this may be weird for a community with such professional composers who probably a room full of equipment, but I'm hoping I, as an amateur who hopes to one day reach that level too, I can get some good help here.

Re: Little money, need soundcard

Actually, it'll be more like save another 70-80 bucks, because that SB Live! 24-bit is listed in a Canadian store, and those will probably cost around 130-140 here in Canada, but thanks for the links. I guess it's much more worthwhile to wait to have enough money for those.

I would be tempted to bid on this:

For original progressive electronic rock influenced by J.S. Bach and (old) Rush, check out: www.soundclick.com/jeffreynaness.

Ships to: United States

The Audiophile 24/96 by M-Audio would be my pick as the cheapest and best solution that I would call truly professional and I can vouch for it (I have 4 of them), BUT the Soundblaster 24 ought to get you by just fine if you're really on a budget. Not having heard one it might actually work as well as the M-Audio, hard to say. It is 24-bit after all and it's claiming a 100Db S/N ratio which ain't shabby...