• Register
  • Help

Topic: Efficient use of using multiple articulations?

Share/Bookmark

Efficient use of multiple articulations?

I'm primarily a composer of concert music. I use EWQLSO Gold, GPO, and various solo libraries to put together my mockups, but my ultimate goal is a notated score to hand to live musicians. The way I usually work is:

1. Compose and mockup in SONAR
    2. Export as MIDI
    3. Import into Finale and/or Sibelius, clean it up, add text, dynamics, markings, articulations, etc.

I generally prefer 1-track-per-instrument (or section) so that each track in SONAR becomes one staff in the notation software. But this becomes difficult when dealing with multiple articulations, attacks, bowings, etc. I know a lot of commercial guys split this up into multiple tracks, but this creates a lot of extra work when creating the notated score (which I'm usually doing on a deadline).

Does anybody work like this? Has anyone come up with a good system for using multiple articulations while maintaining a sequencer file that will translate to notated score fairly intuitively (without having to re-input the whole thing note-by-note or do tons of copy-and-paste?).

When I was using hardware synths, I would just insert patch changes into my tracks, but the Kontakt Player (in EWQL Gold, GPO, etc.) isn't too friendly to that (unless I'm missing something). Keyswitches are helpful, but they are not always available for what I need...

Thanks,
    chris.

Re: Efficient use of using multiple articulations?

I work pretty much like that - but in Cubase. I even use the notation editor in Cubase to get my scores out. Since Cubase's notation abilities is a 4 out of 5, I feel like it saves me from going back and forth between different softwares.