• Register
  • Help

Topic: Advice needed - buying pc for music

Advice needed - buying pc for music

Hi everyone,

My name's Aleem and I'm from the UK, studying history at University. I've been waiting for a few years to be able to buy a decent sample library and a computer that could run it. I've decided that its most likely I'll end up buying Opus1. This would be my first sample library ever. Up until now, I've been using the onboard synth sounds that my inbuilt "soundcard" allowed me to have. I've seen Opus1 at action at my friend's house, heard demos in comparison to other libraries and I like most aspects of it enough to want to buy it. However, I don't have a machine to run it.

I wanted to ask some advice; what sort of specs for a machine am I supposed to aim for? Say I were to run Opus 1 on the machine, what soundcard, how much RAM, hard disk space etc. would you recommend?

I have to add though, that my budget is not large. Afterall, I'm a university student. If you personally had, in the region of £450 ($800) what spec machine would you buy?

Thanks anyone, for taking the time to read this; any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm clueless in matters like these; I don't even know if the £450 mark will get me a minimum. I hope it does, because if its not enough then I'll have to wait another year until I get enough money to buy a computer, a library, and finally start composing.

Re: Advice needed - buying pc for music

Hi, Aleem.
    I'm using Opus 1 too and I'll be glad to tell you some of what works and what doesn't for me.