• Register
  • Help

Topic: Visualizing articulations with Samplers

Smile Visualizing articulations with Samplers

I'm a composer still in the research phase of using samplers and sample libraries. I'm quite familiar with most other aspects of digital audio recording and manipulation (good old college education and lots of practice), but I'm finding my current setup lacking: for orchestral works, I write everything in Sibelius, export the MIDI file to Sonar, and record the sounds straight from my synth's patches.

As you can imagine, this setup is quite lacking in that the patches, while very good, are nowhere near as good as the biggie sample libraries. And the only articulations I can control are the basic ones I do with MIDI, whether in Sibelius or Sonar. I've been researching the realtime editing options that libraries like GPO offer, and I'm excited about what's possible.

My question is, with samplers like Giga or Kontakt, is there a way to see the results of manipulating articulations? Do these programs allow for graphic editing of articulations? In other words, let's say this: I have a solo violin part. I load the raw MIDI file with nothing but note-on messages into Kontakt. Can I use the editing functions unique to Kontakt to edit dynamics, legato phrasing, and different articulations graphically like I use the normal piano-roll graphic to do basic MIDI editing?

Sorry for the long question, but it's hard to get across what I'm confused about. Thanks in advance for your replies, or if you can point me toward any web tutorials or previous threads on this that would also be of great help.

Re: Visualizing articulations with Samplers