• Register
  • Help

Topic: Alternate Reality (idea for a sample library)

Alternate Reality (idea for a sample library)

There's been a lot of talk about how most sample developers and library buyers/users are unimaginative, and I tend to agree to a point, since I understand making/using sample libraries of established instruments is what sells. However, if a developer feels adventurous enough, I'd love to see a library that's truly imaginative and exciting. I have a hypothetical library idea, and since I'm no sound programmer, I'll just give the idea away to anyone that wants to give it a shot.

Alternate Reality - A sample library/physical modeling/synthesis hybrid VST instrument that contains purely instruments born of the imagination, or maybe from an alternate reality. Exotic and exiting instruments that sound nothing like anything you've heard, yet sound and perform as if they really exist in reality. You might ask, "Can't you do that with Hartmann Neuron?" or "Isn't that what synthesizers like Absynth does?" Well, yes and no. Synthesizers do have totally imagined sounds, but they way the patches are designed, they always play like synthesizer sounds--not instruments that sound like they could really exist in reality. There aren't really articulations or extensive performance techniques with synth sounds. Although you could rig a bunch of controllers to control various parameters in realtime, synth parameters are quite different from articulations of real instruments, both in control and sound.

Here are a couple of possible imagined instruments: