• Register
  • Help

Topic: Need Advice: Joystick Modulation and GPO

Share/Bookmark

Need Advice: Joystick Modulation and GPO

I'm seriously considering purchasing a Fatar StudioLogic VMK188 controller keyboard (see the specifications here). I'll be using it with GPO and Synthogy Ivory.

The only potential problem I see is that this controller uses a modulation joystick rather than a modulation wheel. Based on the reviews I have read, the joystick centers itself automatically when it is released, and modulation is hard-assigned to the joystick (in other words, it can't be reassigned).

I'm wondering if this will cause problems with GPO, since it uses the modulation wheel to control volume. Will I have to constantly hold the joystick in place to achieve a consistent volume while playing? Seems rather tedious.

This is all rather frustrating, really. I'm a classical pianist by training, and it seems like every time that I find a keyboard with the sort of heavy, graded action that I'm looking for, some other feature is lacking or less than ideal.

Advice and suggestions greatly appreciated.

Re: Need Advice: Joystick Modulation and GPO

Another option is get whatever weighted action Kboard you like, and also purchase a cheap 2 octave KB with a good mod wheel and lots of knobs.
    Iuse a Yamaha P90 piano, and an M-Audio oxygen8. Those extra knobs come in very handy with garritan products.
    regards

I would like to second that suggestion... although my setup is slightly older<G>!

I use the Roland/Rhodes MK80 as my main 88 note keyboard, and an Oberheim xK for a nice synth/organ type keyboard. Sadly, both have self-centering mod wheels (joystick on the Roland, paddles on the Oberheim.)

So, I use a Yamaha MCS-2 for my mod wheel, as well as some additional controllers. It even has the breath controller input! These can be found for peanuts on eBay.