• Register
  • Help

Topic: Legato question

Question Legato question

Hey everyone,

I have a real basic question about legato playing for different instruments. I'm just a student hobbyist, and I'm not too familiar with all the musical terms that get thrown around here, (I play by ear, I can't even read music!) but I know that legato means to have a smooth transition b/w successive notes played by an instrument. Since I don't have a sustain pedal yet for my midi keyboard, (I use cubase) I was wondering what that actually sounds like, as I can't notice a discernable difference when I draw into the sustain cc64 option in my sequencer. (My option is no sustain/ midi controller) Is Legato set to default when I load (SuS) instruments? If I could hear the difference I would know if I have the correct setting and whatnot. Can somebody please provide a sample or let me know where I could find one the shows the difference?

Re: Legato question

Two things to consider here, the term "legato" as it relates to music in general, and the "legato function" of GPO.

The musical term describes a passage of notes that are played as smoothly as possible, with no discernable gaps between them. On a wind instrument, it means that the column of air that the player is producing remains steady during note changes, and the tongue is not used for successive notes. A piano's legato is just a matter of keeping the length of each note long enough to overlap ever so slightly with the next note. For some instruments, legato has no meaning, such as a xylophone, or strings playing pizzicato.

GPO's legato function works for woodwinds, brass, and strings only. You should mostly concern yourself with the winds here, as they are easiest to understand, and benefit the most from legato function.