• Register
  • Help

Topic: Dual Hard Drive question for relative Newbie

Share/Bookmark

Dual Hard Drive question for relative Newbie

I have just received a dedicated PC computer for recording. It has one 80 GB hard drive and one 120 GB hard drive. I am going to use Cubase SX3, Kontakt 2, virtual instruments, Waves Gold bundle.

I would like to start out right on the computer as far a loading programs on the right drive. Any help on what I should load on what drive would be appreciated. Dave
    David C. Deal, Ph.D.
    http://www.mixposure.com/song.php?songid=16965
    Pentium 3.0 Ghz, Cubase SX3, Kontact 2, Motu 2488, Korg Trinity, OW1 and "stuff"

Re: Dual Hard Drive question for relative Newbie

I'm no expert but i would dedicate the 80 gig drive as your system drive. I would have the OS and alll the apps and related files here. The larger drive I would use as my "audio" drive and here I would put all my sound files and sample libraries etc. When you can afford to do so I would recommend another drive to be dedicated to backup.
    JP

Thanks JP. Unless I hear differently, that is what I will do.
    David C. Deal, Ph.D.
    http://www.mixposure.com/song.php?songid=16965
    Pentium 3.0 Ghz, Cubase SX3, Kontact 2, Motu 2488, Korg Trinity, OW1 and "stuff"

drde - I am a newbie on the forum, too. But I have some experience in hard drives. One important issue is the latency of the drive. Too high, and you will start dropping out on recording and sampling.

Latency of the drive is determined by 3 things (well. more than 3, but these matter most in audio):
    1) head seek time: a good audio drive should be in the 8 to 10 ms range
    2) drive control type: SATA is good; External Firewire is good; SATA RAID 0 is great; IDE and SCSI are pretty old these days, and not as good.
    3) how much other "stuff" is happening on that drive. It should be reserved for audio I/O only, no programs, O/S, swap space, etc.