• Register
  • Help

Topic: EWQLSO Gold - question on reverb settings

Question EWQLSO Gold - question on reverb settings

Does anyone know what would be the reverb settings that would match the properties of the EWQL hall?

There are some other sounds in my mix, and I'm considering to put a reverb only on their bus, so they would blend with the Gold orchestra. The ear is the best judge, of course, but some precise details would help.

Re: EWQLSO Gold - question on reverb settings

I think I'm not going to be able to help you (because I'm a beginner), but, for anyone going to help you, it would be ok to know which reverb unit/plugin are you using.

If you own a IR reverb, (and if not, try this one because it's free http://www.knufinke.de/sir/index_en.html), you could get some impulses of a concert hall. You can search for them at noisevault (http://www.noisevault.com). I think Gary Garritan is going to release a IR library containing high quality impulses of lots of concert halls and other spaces (Garritan Real Spaces), so keep an eye on that release.

Would you mind giving some specifics on what other sounds you're planning to blend with EWQL? For example, when I wanna blend VSL instruments with EWQL (especially the VSL winds), I use the "entry hall 1.2s" convolution preset in Kontakt2, along with a wide and subtle EQ cut around 500-800Hz to give some more distance. Then I put a bit of regular-reverb over both VSL and EWQL, just to glue it all together some more.