• Register
  • Help

Topic: Need some pointers

Need some pointers

I know there are lots of very knowledgeable people on this board, even some experts, and I need your advice.

I am a traditionally trained classical composer and for the past six months I have been re-tooling for the electronic world. I have been working very hard at it using Logic along with orchestral samples (EWQLSO, GPO, etc) to write music and edit it by applying various plugins, etc.

I've learned a lot and made tons of progress, but when I read the posts here and elsewhere, I often don’t understand what people are talking about when the conversation gets technical and I am wondering if anyone could recommend some general books or online tutorials for beginners at audio engineering.

I finally realized that although I have studied harmony, counterpoint, orchestration, conducting, etc, I am performing the tasks of an audio engineer when I use digital samples and a sequencer like Logic to produce musical compositions. Needless to say, this is very different from what they teach in music school (at least what they used to teach) Since I have always performed with acoustic instruments in plain, vanilla live ensembles, I don’t even have the experience of electronic performance, so I feel that I really need to do some homework, but most books and materials I have seen are targeted towards studio recording rather than sequencing using digital samples.

I’d be grateful for any suggestions.

Re: Need some pointers

"The Complete Guide to Midi Orchestration" by Paul Gilreath is pretty good book...He touch basis on a number of things....from orchestration to mixing and plug-ins....Good overall...

The Guide To Midi orchestration by Paul Gilreath

I did't reed it myself but that's the only one i know, also make shure you get the last edition whitch is the 3th edition, i think.

I think there's a few tips there, i'm not shure.

I hope that helps, and how is japan anyway?