• Register
  • Help

Topic: Network Problems - PLEASE Help!

Thumbs down Network Problems - PLEASE Help!

OK, I have to admit I'm a complete novice when it comes to networking, and I'm hoping I'm just doing something really stupid that someone here will spot.

I have two machines, both with ASUS motherboards, P4 3GHz processors and 2GB DDR RAM. My Sequencing machine is running XP service pack 1, whilst the Giga Machine is running service pack 2.

I've linked them with a CAT5e crossover cable, run the network wizard on both, and all seemed fine. Pinging each machine is successful, I can explore both machines from the other.

So I installed Gigateleport, followed all the set-up instructions, and again everything appeared OK. The GT ports found each other and determined latency of 256 samples, the first port in GS lit up red every time I hit a key on my keyboard. So I tried loading an instrument - VSL ensemble violins. When I hit a key I got a horribly granulated sound, a bit like a violin sound which has had ring modulation applied several times until it has disintegrated. Tried to load a different instrument, and got the same result.

My first thought was that the speed of my connection wasn't up to it - it's supposed to be Gigabit LAN, and both adapters claim to be running at 1000Mb, but I thought this might not necessarily mean that everything was OK between them. I tried to copy a file from my sequencing machine and paste it onto an empty drive (with sharing set up) on the other, so that I could measure the transfer rate. It refused to do it though, telling me I either didn't have permission or the drive was inaccessible.

Then I noticed that there was a little warning triangle on the connection icon on my Gigamachine. I clicked on it and was told there was limited or no connectivity. When I asked for more information it said the network had failed to assign it a network address.