• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Piano prelude

Piano prelude

Hi everybody. Today I was practicing some piano, when suddenly got one of those bursts of inspiration, and ended up writing this small prelude, after about 7 hours of work (GPO rendition from finale included)

So, since it was written in finale and then played back with GPO, the dynamics and all those little things aren´t worked out yet, but I think it might work (No sustain pedals for example), and some dynamics sound to abrupt to me.

Anyway, I´d love to hear some comments, should I work more on the piano rendering?

Again, thanks a lot to Gary for hosting this. Here´s the link:

See you in the chat and thanks in advance
    José Miguel Serrano

Re: Piano prelude

A top-flight job on this: piano writing at its best, José!

Technically, I do not know that this needs much work, but for a bit of massaging on dynamics and perhaps a little more attention to tempi. As a pianist, I doubt I would use much sustain pedal at all... I like the fine clarity of it as is.

A wonderful piece!

This is a wonderfully beautiful piece! Great job. I enjoyed sitting back listening to the beautiful harmonies
    Kind Regards

Louis Dekker
    My Music Site

Pour être grand, il faut avoir été petit.

Really nice job on this. I think I hear a little Chopin in there Overall, I think stands pretty well as it is. You might tweak some dynamics in a few spots as David said but I think the piano rendering sounds very good. Cheers!

Nice arrangement!

...Your piano skills are wonderful.

My only minor technical critique was that I found the ambience a bit too full at times. Perhaps it’s a result of the continual sustain pedal causing the overlap.

Still, a wonderful composition. ( wouldn't change a thing there!)

thanks a lot for the comments!!