• Register
  • Help

Topic: EWQLS Gold V.S. Kontakt2 VSL Sounds

Share/Bookmark

EWQLS Gold V.S. Kontakt2 VSL Sounds

Hello,
    Can anyone who has heard both offer an opinion as to which sounds better:
    EWQLS Gold or the VSL Orchestra library that ships with Kontakt 2? The one that comes with Kontakt sounds good to me, but I am just a hobbyist and would like to hear from people with better ears and more experience.

Thanks much for your opinions

Re: EWQLS Gold V.S. Kontakt2 VSL Sounds

If I was you I would buy K2 and some SAM brass. This IMO will give you the best sound.

K2's VSL is by no means complete and while you certainly get a healthy number of Instruments and Sam brass is outstanding, I think you would find EWQLSO GOLD to be more than comparable. The VSL stuff has some great legato stuff that uses the k2 script but legato isn't evrything. Frankly,even as a hobbyist all three together is wise and not that expensive in the scheme of things.

Also, consider Miroslav Symphonic and GPO. I have all of these except Sam brass and will probably get that as well. But EWQLSO Gold...wow...I love it and it's all there w/out of the box ambience (generally) and instruments are already placed in their common panning positions. Best of all, let your ears judge- listen to the demos. Thats what sold me on EW. But I do so love the VSL stuff. Sell your dog.

DO NOT SELL YOUR DOG!!!!!!!!

Poor little puppy needs a loving home....keep him, he loves you...

Another consideration is Kontakt 2 and the Kirk Hunter Symphonic Emerald collection. I started out with GPO and I've found the above two libraries to be a significant leap in terms of sample variety and quality. GPO is great - don't get me wrong. But there does come a time when more flexibility is needed, and the above two libraries have - for the time being - cured any lust I had for the less expensive EW libraries. My next stop will likely be one of the giant collections - VSL, Sonic Implants, etc.