• Register
  • Help

Topic: Sample Format/Sampler Advice Needed

Share/Bookmark

Sample Format/Sampler Advice Needed

Looking for advice...

I'm about to take the plunge into some additional (and expensive) sample libraries. I'm a (kinda) fan of Logic's EXS-24 and I wouldn't mind buying libraries that were made for it or at least importable into it (eh, "importable" -- is that a word?!? ). In the case of the EXS-24, it will import Akai and Giga. (It does Akai nicely, but I have no experience with Giga translations).

Then there's also Kontakt as an alternative, which seems very cool.

And on top of those two choices there are the various translator programs -- Chicken System and CDXTRACT which, theoretically, would allow me to buy any library and translate it to any sampler.

So I'm interested in learning about people's experiences with EXS-24 vs. Kontakt, as well as experiences with one or the other translator program.

Cheers!

=orkguy=

Re: Sample Format/Sampler Advice Needed

Hi Orkguy,

So many good sample libs come with their own player, which automatically hook into your sequencer - so less worry these days about a sampler. Have you chosen a sequencer yet? Once that is done, maybe give some examples of the types of samples you need and get some direction that way.

Joanne

Re: Sample Format/Sampler Advice Needed

Quote Originally Posted by Joanne Babunovic
    Hi Orkguy,

So many good sample libs come with their own player, which automatically hook into your sequencer - so less worry these days about a sampler. Have you chosen a sequencer yet? Once that is done, maybe give some examples of the types of samples you need and get some direction that way.

Joanne
    Joanne he already said that he is a Logic user.