• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: Quitting the day job -- A diary

Quitting the day job -- A diary

11 months ago, I posted a thread entitled I am a composer on these forums, describing my desire to turn to music as my sole profession. The many useful comments by forum-goers make this a great read. I highly suggest anyone who is thinking of taking the plunge and moving into music full time to check it out.

At that time, I made several small but important steps towards my goal:
    1. I began telling people "I am a composer" when asked what I do. This helped cement the thought in my head, and just possibly in the heads of people who some day be looking for a composer
    2. I gave myself a one-year deadline to make the changeover.
    3. I began to compile a list of ideas for my business.

This is the diary of my efforts, and the story of a one-year plan that is now 11 months old. I will attempt to update this fairly regularly, to keep readers up to date. It's my hope that this thread can serve as an encouragement to those who are considering this sort of life-changing move.
    - Jamie Kowalski

All Hands Music - Kowalski on the web
    The Ear Is Always Correct - Writings on composition

West Seneca, NY

Re: Quitting the day job -- A diary

I have always had a great deal of admiration for you and your compassion to make your dream a reality. Something most of us can only think of.
    I wish the very best of success for you Jamie!
    Remember, "You ARE a Composer!"

Post Re: Quitting the day job -- A diary

Feb 2, 2006

I turn 42 this month. My original target was in fact my birthday (the 27th), but I have now pushed it to April 1. Still, this is only eight weeks away, so it's scary close.