• Register
  • Help

Topic: Absolute Beginner... can't not crash...

Absolute Beginner... can't not crash...

Hi folks, I'm new here... [shuffles nervously]

I just took the plunge and bought GS3 Orchestra, and now feel like I am drowning in a deep blue (-screen of death) sea...

If you can help me get to the point where I can actually launch GS3 for the first time without crashing, I would be so very grateful... and can then move on to the more interesting, substantive questions :-)

I have a Dell Dimension, running a Pentium D, 3.0 GHz, with 2Gb of RAM. OS is (Dell OEM) Windows XP Pro, Service Pack 2.

I have tried to make this machine "mostly music" with only things like Cubase SX3, Azureus, Winamp, Nero (*not* InCD), and the like installed.

The computer came with an Audigy2 sound card which I don't use -- I have been using my trusty SeaSound SoloEX as my Mackie mixer/computer interface. Some intrepid soul wrote ASIO drivers for the SeaSound SoloEX, which seem to work fine in Cubase, but it is not GSIF-compatible. I was under the impression that that's OK, since I can run GS3 in conjunction with Cubase in "ReWire" mode...

I installed GS3 off of the installation disc. When running GS3 for the first time, I got as far as it scanning my system for audio files to build up the QuickSound Database. About a minute-anna-half into the process, I got a "Windows has encountered an error -- would you like to send a report?" message. Followed soon thereafter by the first of many Blue Screens of Death. Suddenly, I couldn't even load Cubase on its own without crashing-then-BSoDing.

On at least one occasion, the module referenced in the error report was "msvcrt.dll" -- on at least one other occasion, the error was in msg.exe... or was that msg32.exe???

Next, I d/l'd "GS3_Orchestra_Patch_312.exe" from the TASCAM web site and installed it.