• Register
  • Help

Topic: Sonar 5 and setting up Kontakt Player

Share/Bookmark

Sonar 5 and setting up Kontakt Player

I am totally new to Sonar need some help setting up to use GPO in Sonar 5.

I have copied the 'PersonalOrchestraVST.dll' file into the Sonar VST Plugins folder. Next I opened a MIDI file in Sonar.

Now I'm stuck, I can't see how to access the 'Kontakt Player' to set up my instruments. Is there a Sonar user here who could give me a few basic steps on how to do this? I have done this effortlessly in Cubase previously but can't see how it's done in Sonar which I am now using.

I have tried following the Sonar Tutorial but it deals with DXi and I can't find where it actually explains how to access 'Kontakt Player'; I want to keep with the VST and not DXi. I have also tried some searches in the forums without any luck.

Hope someone will help me with this. Many thanks.
    Michael
    Patience is a virtue, sensitivity is a gift

Re: Sonar 5 and setting up Kontakt Player

From the menu, choose Tools/VST Configuration Wizard. A box will come up showing you the paths Sonar will look in for plugins. If the folder where you keep the GPO plugin isn't shown, click "Add..." and show the program where it is.

After the Sonar knows the location, click the "Next" button to have it re-scan for plugins. You will only need to do this one time.

GPO should now appear as an option for inserting an instrument into the Synth Rack. You should have both the DXI and the VST versions available.

DXI: Insert/Soft Synths/NI/Garritan Personal Orchestra
    VST: Insert/Soft Synths/VST/PersonalOrchestraVST

If you have any more questions, I'd be happy to help. I've been using Sonar for years, and am pretty comfortable with it.
    - Jamie Kowalski

All Hands Music - Kowalski on the web
    The Ear Is Always Correct - Writings on composition

Hello Jamie,