• Register
  • Help

Topic: Putting the Cart before the Horse...

Putting the Cart before the Horse...

Hey all, I'm interested in getting into game composing as a hobby--in other words, I'm not interested in scoring big-name clients or even (necessarily) getting paid. I'd like to start a game production company, but I'm kind of approaching it backwards. Here's the deal:

-I'm a professional musician with degrees in composition, a pretty advanced project studio, lots of sample libraries and talented friends who play multiple instruments. I'm experienced with film composing, sound-design, recording, mixing, etc.
    -My collaborator is an animator who studied at a very major art college. He's very good and has a very unique style.

If only we had a programmer/developer, we'd have the beginnings of a small production company.

I realize that we're approaching this a bit backwards, but hey, whatever. Any idea what to look for in a game programmer, and where to find one? Not knowing much about the ins-and-outs of game programming, I don't really know what kind of prerequisites to look for. I'm not looking to make fancy 3D shooters or simulations... The artist does hand-drawn animation, so I imagine we'd be looking at platform and/or puzzle games, or art/immersion type games like MYST. It's just a matter of finding a programmer who can incorporate the artwork and animation into the game...

Any thoughts?

Re: Putting the Cart before the Horse...

I'm in my fourth semester of college, pursuing a degree in computer science with the desire/hope to become a game programmer, as game programming has been one of my hobbies before I even knew who Mozart was. However, being only a college student, I don't truly know the inner workings of the real industry, nor do I have any professional experience, nor do I even have lots of time (studies come first! )... the only lame game I ever finished was in 2003 : http://www.wizardwalk.com/blockheads/