• Register
  • Help

Topic: Elwood Herring - Symphony 4 mvt ii

Share/Bookmark

Elwood Herring - Symphony 4 mvt ii

About 6 years ago I met Paul Williams (aka Elwood Herring) on a chat board in Audiogalaxy (remember THAT innovative software?!?)

He displayed an encyclopedic knowledge of composers and especially for the genre of the symphony.... he was (and is) also a self-taught composer, poet and writer. We have shared a love of music and oddball composers now across the pond for these 5-6 years of our friendship, and regularly chat and share new "finds" of obscure music.

Elwood (as he is known on the internet) doesn't have GPO yet, nor does he have the means to easily use it (i.e Finale, SIbelius, Overture, etc). So, I have taken the MIDI file he prepared of his 4th Symphony and begun rendering it with GPO as I have a spare moment or 2. Mvt 2 seemed the easiest to convet first, so here it is.... (with the composer's blessing)

http://evensongmusic.net/audio/ElwoodSym4mvt2a.mp3

I'm sure he would be delighted to hear your comments - I'll give him the link to this post so he can see them (and perhaps we can get him to join our little bunch of music makers!)

Enjoy,

Re: Elwood Herring - Symphony 4 mvt ii

Thanks for bringing this forward, Jonathan! You do both him and us a service with this...

Mr. Williams, may I warmly welcome you!

I've listened through this several times. Interesting work in its subtle and surficially spare but organizationally complex interplay of thematic material. Lean writing like this is deceptive... simple outwardly and on a casual listen, the deeper substance and beauty emerges only as you grasp the longer trains of thought.

I will look forward with much interest to hearing this in the context of the complete symphony!

David
    www.DavidSosnowski.com

Quote Originally Posted by etLux