• Register
  • Help

Topic: To all giga users

To all giga users

I have never used a sampler before, hardware or software, and, as a result, I\'m not real familiar with a lot of the terminology, etc. I use Cubase VST with a gina card (I recently installed the 5.01 drivers). I\'ve also got a soundblaster live value card that came with the computer (I figured a second card might be useful for a software sampler, but now I prefer to use Gina for everything). My question is, do you all think gigasampler is a good choice for first sampler? Is the learning curve very intimidating? I already know I may have to deal with the inevitable computer/conflict issues, but is it worth it? Is gigasampler good for someone who hears the word \"envelope\" and thinks \"8 x 10 or legal size?\" Thanks in advance - I really appreciate everyone\'s opinion.

P.S. I definitely want to integrate my software sampler with Cubase. It\'s not much use to me if I can\'t use the gigasampler in the same songs as my midi sequences, audio tracks, etc.

My system is:
    Pentium III 600
    384 mg
    27 gig ide drive
    9 gig SCSI drive for audio files

[This message has been edited by irwin (edited 10-09-1999).]

Re: To all giga users

Hi Irwin,
    I have used sythesizers before I dived into the world of samplers only with GS. I was afraid of hardware samplers (tiny displays, millions of parameters, complicated SCSI-connectivity). I tell you that with the PC-environment you will find - after the normal beginning trouble - the editing of sounds very fast and effective. I would have done wrong, if I had decided for a hardware sampler.