• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: has gpo changed?

has gpo changed?

hello all

I posted a looong time ago inquiring about garritan personal orchestra & only now have I found myself the time to purchase it...

I have noticed however that the GPO package appeas to have changed, & that it no longer comes with cubasis vst? Is this correct? If so is there a way to buy the older version?

Since all I have is a crummy notation program & a number of midis that I want to turn into GPO MP3's I have no other software... does this mean I have to buy something else aswell as GPO to use it such as a sequencer? Can this newer version be used straight out of the box?

Any help would be greatly appreciated... I'm very keen to jump on the GPO bandwagon & share some of my music. I have never used synth software/sequencers etc before so I am anticipating a steep learning curve. Is there anything else I should know before taking the plunge?

Cheers all

Re: has gpo changed?

I don't know what all is in the current GPO, but the GPO package being offered over at www.geniesoft.com still has Overture 3 SE (a very useable notation program) included in the package. If you haven't yet bought GPO, I'd check with them first to see what all is included.

With that said, GPO is just the "instrument", so you'll need some kind of notation program or sequencer to use it.

If your budget is limited, then take a look at Cakewalk Home Studio (Sonar's "little brother"). It goes for about $160 at places like Musicians Friend. If you can spend more, look at the full Sonar.

Also look at the stuff at www.geniesoft.com for notation software. Overture 4 is wonderful, but it looks like they've made some good upgrades to Score Writer also. There are demo versions available for download.