• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: more sibelius help please

more sibelius help please

I'm just getting started with sibelius and i love the note input controls, but i can't seem to find a way to record velocities along with the note input. is this possible? please help

Re: more sibelius help please

Turn on "live playback" in the play menu.

is that all it takes?
    I had it turned on and i was step-inputting with my controller, being sure to exaggerate the velocities, but when i played back, it was all the same.
    is there anything else i need to turn on?

You can view and edit the velocities. View>Live playback velocities.

If you had live playback enabled when you recorded, it should work. Also, you may want to select some notes and go to properties and make sure in the playback section that live velocity is enabled. Maybe this got disabled somehow.

I believe, that unless you change the playback velocity with the LIve Playback, Sibelius uses default velocities associated with your dynamic markings. Have you used Expression text to input these?

no, i haven't used expressions.
    i'm talking about recording the velocity that i play on the keyboard(MIDI). I'm positive i did this with finale more than 1o years ago. i'm sure sibelius can do it. i just can't get it to work. if it's not a feature, it's a serious omission. IMHO

Are you using flexi-time input mode? I know this works since I do it all the time. But live velocities only get recorded in flexi-time input mode.

from what I know, and just checking my old Sib 2 manual [I do have Sib 4], if you are using step time input, this does not take any record of the velocity of the notes you are inputting, it just takes the information of what note you are playing on the midi keyboard, and puts it on the staff for you.
    To get the velocities of your performance, you need to use 'Flexi-time" input.