• Register
  • Help

Topic: Is school worth it or how about moving...

Share/Bookmark

Cool Is school worth it or how about moving...

sponsored links

***Advertisments***
    My problem is that I'm not technical at all for using computer based software to record music. Using programs like Sonar, Cubase with Kontact or Gigastudio to compose projects with and routing all the hardware together etc is a chore for me. I love just loading up a sample and just playing my controller having fun just relaxing a bit. However- I can not figure out how to record myself or connect a into b or choose the correct port for audio so it's not conflicting with the other 3 programs... yada yada. I have looked at some music programs out there and a few colleges offer music technology as a course that seems to offer just what I'm looking for but it's not a full degree and it's no where close to me. So the way I look at it is I need help and learn best by seeing/watching or hands on and if I'm ever going to get good at the craft I'm either going to need to go to school or move to a place where there are a lot more musicians making music my way. What would you guys suggest? I'm actually pretty free to do what ever my hearts desire in a few months with no strings attached. I'm transitioning out of my current career and have saved up a good 6 months of pay so I can make an informed choice and not have to do anything drastic. My new job is flexible enough I can do it pretty much anywhere I would have to move to so I'm really lucky on that part.
    I do not regret the things I've done, but those I was unable to do.

Re: Is school worth it or how about moving...

Hi Seth. Time, money and few responsibilities. I'm envious!

Regarding musical tools, it sounds like you just need to establish a basic workflow. I'd recommend this:

1) Define what you want to do. For instance
    * Record midi from my live playing
    * Tweak the performance.
    * Add some more tracks
    * Mix the volume levels