• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Can Kontakt be used "stand alone"?

Share/Bookmark

Can Kontakt be used "stand alone"?

This probably sounds like a silly question to most users, but I have to ask if I can use Kontakt alone, or must it be used in the environment of Sonar, Cubase, etc.

I'm not a novice, either in music, electronics, or computer usage, but I somehow have avoided learning the implications of VST technology (of which, I understand, this is an example....(is it?). At any rate, I just want to use Kontakt as a sample player, but I'm thinking that I need to be running it "in" Cubase etc. (whatever running "in" means).

Could someone explain?
    Thanks,
    Gabriel

Re: Can Kontakt be used "stand alone"?

Quote Originally Posted by gabriels
    This probably sounds like a silly question to most users, but I have to ask if I can use Kontakt alone, or must it be used in the environment of Sonar, Cubase, etc.

I'm not a novice, either in music, electronics, or computer usage, but I somehow have avoided learning the implications of VST technology (of which, I understand, this is an example....(is it?). At any rate, I just want to use Kontakt as a sample player, but I'm thinking that I need to be running it "in" Cubase etc. (whatever running "in" means).

Could someone explain?
    Thanks,
    Gabriel
    Short answer, yes.

D

[QUOTE=Daryl]Short answer, yes.

Daryl,

Oh dear; now I've asked an ambiguous question, and your answer, being a bit TOO short, still leaves me in the dark.

Do you mean "yes, you can run Kontakt stand-alone." , or do you mean "Yes, you need to run Kontakt as a plug-in to a host."?

Well, if you or someone else deigns to amplify that answer, and the answer is that I need a host, is there some simple program that can be used as a host, but which doesn't cost a lot? I am playing live exclusively, so no sequencer is needed.
    Thanks,
    Gabriel

K2 is both standalone ''and'' VST. Your choice!

Hi Gabriel,