• Register
  • Help

Topic: A bit of Opera and a Ball

Share/Bookmark

A bit of Opera and a Ball

Just looking for a few opinions on the work in progress that I started this past weekend. It's a song that I've been toying with for a couple of years now and finally got up the nerve to put it on GPO.

http://www.mitchmanthe.net/~All/musi...ay%20Waltz.mp3

This is just a short sample but should be enough to get the idea of where I'm going with it.

Thanks for listening.
    Writing music for the joy of it. (with Windows 7 64bit, Intel i7 processor, 12GB memory, LOTS of disk space, Finale 2014, Garritan GPO, JABB3, COMB, Steinway, World Instruments, & Soundiron Olympus Micro Choir. And if I ever figure out how to use Sonar X2...the sky's the limit)

Re: A bit of Opera and a Ball

Mitch, I hear a great deal of promise in this, and I do hope you'll continue work on it!

There's certainly plenty there to explore; and orchestration and execution is quite well done.

The one comment I might make is on tempo. Now -- this is highly subjective -- but I really felt much of this might benefit by moving along somewhat more quickly, perhaps.

Looking forward to more on this!

David
    www.DavidSosnowski.com

Quote Originally Posted by etLux

The one comment I might make is on tempo. Now -- this is highly subjective -- but I really felt much of this might benefit by moving along somewhat more quickly, perhaps.

Hey Dave, I'm not that young anymore. Any faster and I'd be tripping over my own trousers.
    Writing music for the joy of it. (with Windows 7 64bit, Intel i7 processor, 12GB memory, LOTS of disk space, Finale 2014, Garritan GPO, JABB3, COMB, Steinway, World Instruments, & Soundiron Olympus Micro Choir. And if I ever figure out how to use Sonar X2...the sky's the limit)