• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: IK Miroslav?

Share/Bookmark

IK Miroslav?

Hi Folks,

I'm relatively new to orchestral composition in a DAW. I use Logic and now Ableton as well.

I'm looking for a GREAT library.. mainly for strings.. something that has some emotion and is easily editable.

I'm enjoying the demo of Synful on my mac... I dont have a controller with a mod wheel, though, so I'm losing a lot of articulation that they expect you to perform live with that insturment.

For a while I have been close to ordering the IK reissue of Miroslav..... but I'm not crazy about the demos. I get the feeling that the lack of quality I hear in the miroslav demos are more from lazy programming. Most of what I will use it for are string swells, and the majority of the music I am writing has it's backbone with the piano.

The Vienna demos with their new insturment sound and look amazing, by the way.. just not looking to spend thousands right now.

Anyone have any good examples.. or can shed some light on miroslav vitous IK?

Unfortuntely, you can't download a sample library for demo purposes. too big!

Steve

Re: IK Miroslav?

Why don't you give Garritan Personal Orchestra a try? If you write hairpins or cresc. and decresc. in your score you need no mod wheel - at least that is what I do. Or you can also draw the dynamic lines in a sequencer.

A fantastic demo of strings with piano (all GPO) was just posted by Roberto Ferrari:

http://www.robertferrari.com/The_Earth_Heaven.mp3

Cheers
    Hannes

Hi Hannes,

I'll probably get flamed for saying this, but I'm just not feeling GPO. I have used it, and I find that I like the songs more that I have heard recorded with EWQL Gold... which is also a consideration. It's in a similar price range as Garritan, and it sound a bit better to me. I guess I'm trying to compare Miroslav to the likes of Gold and even Vienna.. want to see how it stacks up to those.