• Register
  • Help

Topic: Easy Question (How to play Stacato)

Share/Bookmark

Easy Question (How to play Stacato)

I'm new to GPO and am working on a big project so I need answers. Thanks in advance. I'm working in a simple notation program (I'll leave it at that) because I'm not accustomed to sequencing and was wondering why all the sounds play legato, almost a "wah wah" effect for each note rather than a "ta ta". This makes runs and stuff difficult since everything is slurred together. I think I've tried adjusting the MOD wheel, volume, note durration, and velocity. I've also adjusted the reverb, to no avail.

What do I need for notes to play "ta (silence) ta" versus "wahwah"?

Re: Easy Question (How to play Stacato)

You want a short duration note with a high velocity for fast attack. How to achieve that in your notation program is anybody's guess...

In Sibelius notating for staccato (dot above or below the note head) automatically shortens the duration. There's a setting that lets you determine the percentage of playing vs. silence.

Or... you could notate with a sledge hammer, and put in a 1/64th note followed by a 63/64ths rest...

-JF

Thanks. That helped a lot.

But I find that doing a simple run on any capable horn, lets say flute, results in notes not being played. I'm thinking this has to do with my processor, an AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @ 2.2 Ghz. GPO and the comp progragam together max out the processor. Could this be a hindrance to playing fast runs and thickly scored material?

Thanks again!

Quote Originally Posted by drtrmiller0911