• Register
  • Help

Topic: By product of samples: ear-training!

Share/Bookmark

Lightbulb By product of samples: ear-training!

I play the oboe, and have kept up on it ...enough. But since I have a gig in July, I recently began the quest to get into 'performance shape,' and I began working with reeds and figuring out which one played in tune. But at the time I wasn't referring to my tuner. I started playing a few scales to warming up, and then played and held an A-440. It felt a little low, so I pushed the pitch up until it sounded right. Then I turned to the tuner and I was RIGHT ON! Then as I continued to practice I would carefully tune by ear and then compare to the tuner, and more often than not, would be right on.

And that's when it occurred to me that I've been listening to carefully tuned samples, occasionally using controllers to force them out of tune, and that for all this listening, I've been ear training. Perfect pitch? Hardly. Not me. But my relative pitch sure hasn't suffered. Any other thoughts?

Re: By product of samples: ear-training!

Well, pitch recognition, like any another skill, improves with practice, deteriorates when not exercised.

When I think of perfect pitch, I wonder what happened to all those perfect pitch people in about 1917 in this country, when the shift to A 440 from A 435 was adopted. When I was tuning pianos, and encountered the perfect pitch person, if they demonstrated, they invariably showed how inaccurate they were.

Lest someone think of my remarks as a "sour grapes" rant:

When I first began working in a piano shop, long ago, amidst all the din of tools and general uproar, somebody would whack out a chord on a piano and call out, "Hey, Richard, what was that?". I always gave the correct chord. Also, fairly recently, I played a vinyl recording of something I was unfamiliar with, and the work was identifed as "Something?" in E Major. But my ear told me E Flat, and my piano confirmed my ear and later, my encylopedia.