• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Who's using Stylus RMX for rock/pop drums?

Who's using Stylus RMX for rock/pop drums?

I'm a guitarist who knows little about programming drums. My interests are straight forward rock and pop. When getting started in PC recording about a year ago, I tried a few different things (Battery, DR-008, Jamstix, Slicy Drummer) but ended up getting Groove Agent. I really like it! For getting a basic song constructed, intro, verses, chorus, fills, bridge, etc. there is nothing that could possibly be simpler.

But with all that simplicity you, of course, get limitations. There are just not enough variations of my favorite styles and now I'm looking for something to augment Groove Agent. Everyone keeps raving about Stylus RMX, but it seems like there's not too many people using it for basic rock and pop drums. On the other hand BFD seems like way too much work to get a good result.

So I'm leaning toward getting RMX with Backbeat and maybe some other REX libraries. I'd be great to hear from others who are happy with this combination.

Re: Who's using Stylus RMX for rock/pop drums?

I use rmx for everything from pop and rock to techno and industrial. It works very well.

Backbeat, burning grooves - heck, all the expanders are amazing as well.

Also, the New Orleans strut has some great grooves as well.

Now with total rex (15,000 rex loops), and the fact that rmx is 100% open ended and expandable (just get recycle 2), there's no reason to use everything else.

Toontrack's EZDrummer is another one you should consider.

For original progressive electronic rock influenced by J.S. Bach and (old) Rush, check out: www.soundclick.com/jeffreynaness.

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar
    Dallas, Texas

Hi Brig,

You know, this might be take it or leave it kind of advice, depending on what your pop interests are, but...