• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: sudden severe volume decreases

sudden severe volume decreases

I've been using GPO for a couple of months and I am using it inside of Cubase VST Score. I have worked through most of the learning curve with regard to settings, but I have a recurring problem with volume drop outs. It seems to randomly drop one or more channels. Not a complete dropout just a random sudden and severe decrease in volume on one or more of the instruments.

Before I get a bunch of replys about the volume setting and mod controller I should say that all is correct there. I am wondering if my laptop is interupting the program for background programs or something. Task manager does have about 50 programs running. Does anyone have experience with this symptom?

Re: sudden severe volume decreases

I'd typically suspect spurious CC#1 data getting to the track, often times through these means:

1) Some sequencers (thinking SONAR here) have a 'Reset controllers to Zero on stip' feature that needs to be turned off. If these particular tracks have no CC#1 data before the next note plays after stopping, then it will be very quiet.

2) If your keyboard is very old, sometimes the Mod Wheel is very loose and sends out data occasionally even if it isn't touched.

3) In an early version of the GPO player, I know that I'd occasionally have 'phantom pitch bend' problems when clicking keys on the virtual keyboard in the GUI. Could maybe happen with Mod Wheel too? At any rate, it was fixed in a later version update, so make sure you get latest.

However, since you're using a Scoring entry method, these problems aren't necessarily applicable.

Do you also have dropouts if you close out a lot of the other programs?

- m
    Free MFX and other plugins: http://www.TenCrazy.com/
    Markleford's music: http://www.markleford.com/music/