• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: The importance of Piano for Orchestration/Composition

Share/Bookmark

The importance of Piano for Orchestration/Composition

hi guys...i don't practise to much piano....i'm a beginner in reading/playing music....is it important to know how to play other peoples works or it's enough to understand how it is composed...thank u!

Re: The importance of Piano for Orchestration/Composition

The important thing is to understand other people's works. How you get there can vary, but playing them on the piano (or other keyboard instrument) is one of the best ways, if only because you can hear the harmonies.

But music is melody too. Not enough would-be composers are singers. Singing the melody lines can give you insight, and being a good singer means that you will likely compose memorable tunes.

(Granted that some great instrumental music may contain material that can neither be sung, nor played easily on the piano!)

Research has shown that performers tend to understand and enjoy music better than non-performers. So get practising!

Having said all that, a marvellous way to understand an orchestral work is to buy the score and enter it into a sequencer, using GPO for the sounds. Many of us in this forum do that, in order to study the arts of composition and orchestration. It's also fun - you get to play every instrument in the orchestra. The quickest way to work is by using a MIDI keyboard, another reason to practise piano.

Quote Originally Posted by aLfR3dd
    i don't practise to much piano
    I don't think it's necessary to play piano to compose well (but I play piano, so what do I know?). However, it is helpful, if not essential, to play some instrument well -- not necessarily virtuosically, but competently. This instrument could be voice, but for most people, a physical instrument outside their body seems to be more helpful.

i'm a beginner in reading/playing music