• Register
  • Help

Topic: Hyper Threading Disable

Exclamation Hyper Threading Disable

The only dumb question is the one not asked right? Well, here goes. Can someone please tell me how to disable hyperthreading. That's one of the first must do's of GigaStudio. I'm a newbie from the world of Akai and Emulator. I'm setting up Giga on an IBM ThinkCentre M 51 8143 with a 3 gig processor at 7200, 3.2 gigs of ddram sata etc. Please help. All dressed up with nowhere to go!
    Now.......maybe if I click on here that'll get me to the bios. Awww

Re: Hyper Threading Disable

One of the first do's of Gigastudio is to read all the docs. The later versions of 3 are stated to be working with HT.

- G

In general you turn on/off HT in the BIOS. To get into the BIOS you usually press DEL or F1 while the PC boots. Be carefull though. If you screw something up in the BIOS, bad things can happen.

And, yes, the latest versions support HT.

A great big thanks to both of you for your quick reply. I'll try it without disabling that feature. By the way Gamera, I just received GigaStudio 3 Orchestra 4 days ago and the 'docs' haven't been closed since. Haven't finished reading of course but clearly on page 13 under settings & requirements it states that. Maybe it'll clear it up later huh? I'm the kind of guy who's afraid to even install such a detailed program without getting as much knowledge as I can glean, especially from you guys. Can I still load it safely onto this machine just to check it out until I get my VAIO ready for the internet?
    Thanks Again

No dis intended, but I think you're walking headfirst into a brick wall. Yes, you gotta read stuff before diving in, but eventually you have to read and dive at the same time. It's the in Release Notes that HT was made OK at some point with an update. Here are some tips: