• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Anyone switched from Mac to Windows?

Share/Bookmark

Anyone switched from Mac to Windows?

I've been using a Mac since 1990, but there's a distinct possibility that due to some work factors I will need to switch to full-time use of a Windows-based laptop. I will say at this point it doesn't seem likely that the dual-boot Intel Duo MacBook is a possibility...we're talking a cold turkey, complete changeover!
    Has anyone made this kind of switch? What are benefits? What is the downside?
    How difficult was the transition?

Last and probably most important, what would be the optimum specs for a Windows-based laptop (running XP Pro) so that I could run Finale 2006 and GPO with an average of 20 instruments? I need this info to talk to my non-music IT person about specs.

Thanks for any advice.
    Brad Pearson
    THG Music
    Spokane WA

MacBook Pro (2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo), 3 gig RAM, OS 10.6.5, Finale 2011b, GPO4 & CMB2

Re: Anyone switched from Mac to Windows?

I use both. There isn't really a whole lot of difference. Maybe a couple of keyboard shortcuts that you'll have to change if you use them and a slightly different way of doing things in general, but nothing serious. You'll have it mastered in no time (probably!).

I didn't start on Mac, but I had no trouble moving to it, or back again.

Several of my colleagues used Mac's for years and quickly adapted to PC's when they had the chance to get a new PC or make do with their old Mac. Some have gone back through preference, but most are happily running PC's now.

Rich

I made the switch to PC about 12 years ago, so I'm not sure that counts. It was in support of my programming job at the time, but I started collecting music software at that time as well, so it was a never-turn-back situation.