• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Do You Study Conductors?

Share/Bookmark

Do You Study Conductors?

I'm a conductor and a composer. I have studied both extensively.

I love to watch other conductors. At any concert I attend, I observe them closely, studying their stick technique, gestures, styles, etc. I am always open to learn from what I see, even tho I've been conducting for over 26 years.

I had the opportunity to see the LA Phil at the ACDA convention in Feb. 05 with Esa-Pekka Salonen conducting Schoenberg's Gurrelieder.

What an amazing and fascinating conductor. He was in total command of an orchestra that numbered over 110 in size. He had total control of the music and his tecnique was amazing...ever gesture meant something and every movement he made generated an appropriate response from the orchestra. I would LOVE to get back to LA and see him conduct again.

Do you study conductors? Who is your favorite conductor?

Ron Williams
    Westminster, CO
    Music is a manifestation of the human spirit similar to a language. If we do not want such things to remain dead treasures, we must do our upmost to make the greatest number of people understand their secrets -- Zoltan Kodaly

Re: Do You Study Conductors?

During a concert, I watch the conductor. And during musicals, half the time I'm watching the conductor. Just like to keep an eye on the music from a distance to see what is going on. Kind of like me at those showgirl shows in Vegas...girls all over the stage and I'm sitting there looking up into the light systems...
    Colton J. Provias
    Film Score Composer, Location Sound Mixer, and Sound Editor
    Full-stack Web Developer

I certainly spend some time watching conductors whenever I'm at a concert, though I'm not sure I'd call it studying since I don't know enough about conducting in general to understand everything the conductors do.