• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Topic: Low Memory

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    New Member Reuben's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sandy Springs, Georgia
    Posts
    12

    Low Memory

    I am getting a low memory alert. I can only add 5 saxes, 4 trumpets, and 2 trombones. Anything added after that will produce a low memory alert. I also get the low memory alert when I add the Steinway piano alone with no other instrument. I am using Finale 2006C and have 1.25 Gig of RAM. I have a Creative Sound Blaster X-fi with ASIO drivers with 50 Gig of HD remaining.

    I reloaded JABB today and still get the Low Memory alert. Suggestions? Reuben.

  2. #2

    Re: Low Memory

    In the Kontakt Player's Options try and toggle "lock memory (no swap)". It might help.

  3. #3
    New Member Reuben's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sandy Springs, Georgia
    Posts
    12

    Re: Low Memory

    The toggle seems to have worked and I was able to load all 17 instruments without a low memory alert. However, all instruments do not sound. Only the first Kontakt player works even though I tweeked the mod wheel and they work fine in the setup but do not when I play the arrangement (Finale 2006c). I tried to put the instruments at the same VST value 1- alto etc. Question: The VST setup shows 16 channels for each player but you can only have 8 instruments per player. If I am trying to get the Finale channel numbers the same, I don't know how to make that happen if the set up shows that player 1 uses channels 1-16. Thanks for the help. Reuben.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NW Illinois
    Posts
    1,175

    Re: Low Memory

    You can only use the full 16 channels if you have the full verion of Kontakt. If you're using the standard Kontakt player, load the first 8 instruments into channels 1-8, the next group will get loaded into the 8 slots in the second player which is channels 17-24, then 8 slots in the third player channels 33-40, etc.

    Jeff

  5. #5
    New Member Reuben's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sandy Springs, Georgia
    Posts
    12

    Re: Low Memory

    That is exactly how I loaded the 17 instruments. Still, only the first Kontakt player works when I play the arrangement and I did turn the mod wheel for each instrument. on the first player I have 5 saxes and three trumpets. That's all that will play. At least I getting something now. Thanks, Reuben.

  6. #6

    Re: Low Memory

    Hello,

    I would like to know if you have solved your problem with the only 8 first channels wich sound? It seems to me i have the problem and I don't succed in solve it.

    Thank you for your help.


    Eric

  7. #7

    Re: Low Memory

    Here are a couple of formulas, that link Finale's staff channel numbers (as seen in the Instrument List) with the Kontakt Player's channel numbers:
    "Staff channel" = ("Player #" - 1) * 16 + "Player channel"

    or

    "Player channel" = "Staff channel" - ("Player #" - 1) * 16

  8. #8
    New Member Reuben's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sandy Springs, Georgia
    Posts
    12

    Re: Low Memory

    I found that by going to the Kontact player and clicking on the Options menu you have several items to enable or disable. The one that I disabled "Lock Memory (No Swap)" fixed the problem for me. I also have Finale 6 and when I use that score setup it helps too. Reuben.

  9. #9

    Re: Low Memory

    Quote Originally Posted by Reuben
    I am getting a low memory alert. I can only add 5 saxes, 4 trumpets, and 2 trombones. Anything added after that will produce a low memory alert. I also get the low memory alert when I add the Steinway piano alone with no other instrument. I am using Finale 2006C and have 1.25 Gig of RAM. I have a Creative Sound Blaster X-fi with ASIO drivers with 50 Gig of HD remaining.

    I reloaded JABB today and still get the Low Memory alert. Suggestions? Reuben.

    I have also had this problem of the low memory warning. I have 2GB of RAM. I even contacted my computer manufacturer and with the heop of tech support increased the virtual memeory to try to eliminate this problem. Nothing seemed to work. BUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (SEE NEXT POST)

  10. #10

    Re: Low Memory

    Quote Originally Posted by Reuben
    I found that by going to the Kontact player and clicking on the Options menu you have several items to enable or disable. The one that I disabled "Lock Memory (No Swap)" fixed the problem for me. I also have Finale 6 and when I use that score setup it helps too. Reuben.
    I just went to the Kontakt player and Options and disabled the "Lock Memory (No Swap)" and voila the low memory warning did not come when I loaded a file that has full orchestra plus full Steinway piano and Celesta.

    Thanks Ruben for not being afraid to expierment. This was a real problem for me. I was about to spend $200 to purchase and additional gig of RAM. You save the day. I think! I hope!. I pray! For now it seemed to work when I opened the file. EUREKA I just tried another problematical file and there was no low memary Warning.

Go Back to forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •