• Register
  • Help

Topic: Mic and Pre-amp (limiter) questions and sugestions

Mic and Pre-amp (limiter) questions and sugestions

Hi Folks-

I occasionally post on the samples forums, but this is definitely a hardware question. I did a search on mic preamps and found some good information. I'm just learning how to mix music and many of the pros say it's mainly the quality of the mix versus the equipment that makes the difference.

My current set up for home, hobby recording is an Audio Technica AT4033a in a closet (converted to a cheap isolation booth - really cheap, I need some acoustic foam) going straight into my Echo Mona's XLR pre-amp. Interesting that the microphone sounds much "louder" and distorts easier through input #1 than 2-4.

I've found the AT4033a to sound very clear, but "thin" and bright. I'm really after a warm, intimate sound and am wondering how I can go about this. Do I need a new mic? Would a decent pre-amp make a big difference with my current mic? Would better mixing make the vocals sound warmer?

My biggest struggle right now with the warmth is the distance I have to be from the mic. I don't have great vocal control and often go from soft to loud. What I'd really like is a nice limiter in the pre-amp (or in the input chain) to tame those highs before the sound gets to the computer. No matter how I compress after the fact, if it clipped going in, it's clipped.

If I stand too far back from the mic (to avoid clipping) the thin sound of my vocals gets much worse. And, room noise becomes an issue since I have to bring the floor up in the compressor to keep a strong level. Ideally, it'd be great to have someone else monitor the levels, but I'm solo.

Some say the easiest solution would be to buy a more expensive mic, perhaps even a tube mic. I don't mind spending money if it will make a big difference (as long as the sum is within reason, which for me is around $500) in the recording quality, but I'm wondering where best to spend those funds?