• Register
  • Help

Topic: Introduction/Sonar midi questions

Introduction/Sonar midi questions

Hi everyone. My name is Earl Green. This is my first post.

I am first and foremost a vocalist. I have been singing opera for over 25 years and currently am working with the Orlando Opera. I'm also an organist and have been one for over 30 years. Soon I'll have a website up in case anyone wants to take a peek.

I am in the process of putting together a project studio and have considered using GPO. I've been reading the posts over the last few weeks and decided to join. I really like the spirit of this forum. Very helpful and creative.

Most of the arrangments will be pop/orchestral background tracks for my vocals. I'm working on a worship type project and want some real sounding orchestral instruments. Later I will want to add the Jazz package.

I will not be able to purchase GPO for several months, probably around Christmas, so I have a few questions.

1. If I create midi files in Sonar and use Cakewalk TTS and Edirol VSC to start with, when I get GPO will I have much to edit? Are there any tips you can give me to start including in my midi files now so the conversion will be fairly seamless?

2. I will be using mainly mouse and notation to input, outside some keyboard parts on my M-Audio Keystation Pro 88.

Thanks again for any help.
    Earl Green

New York, NY

Re: Introduction/Sonar midi questions