• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: OT: studio software...???

Question OT: studio software...???

I'm about to start my next chapter in life and through a lot of discipline and hard work I have the freedom to up and move and start off fresh and I want to pursue a career in making background music mostly via computer and in my free time I have searched high and low in my local area and near by city's for anyone who uses gigastudio, sonar, or cubase, etc and just have had 0 luck. I see everyone using Pro tools and every once in a while someone using Logic but thatĺs it...

I have collected just about everything I would need to start my own home studio gear wise for a starter set up, but I did it prematurely because I have no background in music technology as I call it. Basically as a hobbyist I can play keyboard by ear pretty well but making music with samples and mixing it and layering using say Sonar is Greek to me. So my hope is to maybe move somewhere where there are a lot of musicians possibly Nashville for example and hope to meet someone there to give me hands on training on programs such as the Sonar I mentioned here. Is that too outlandish to do, or are most studios out there really using Protools like they all do here? I would be happy from working from my own office or home to make music but I know some people have dedicated studios different than recording studios so I'm trying to find out how to do the non-recording type of studio...

I have found a few schools that offer a "music technology" certificate but the course description does not lead me to believe I would get any time behind a computer using the software and it would be more studio set up/breakdown and maybe connecting midi keyboards... Am I searching for the wrong type of class? What other music related classes offer training on the above-mentioned programs?