• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: EWQL Silver vs GPO for a producer new to orchestral sounds?

Share/Bookmark

EWQL Silver vs GPO for a producer new to orchestral sounds?

Hello everyone,

I hesitantly post this thread since I know that many similar threads have been posted in the past. I spent a few hours searching through the forums, but I am still confused about an orchestral product that would suit my needs... so I hope nobody will get offended because of me posting another one of these topics!

Here is my situation:
    I am a musician/producer of electronic genres and have been working with synthesizers, computers, and sound gear for as long as I can remember. I know my techno/dnb/electronica fields well, but I have always felt the desire to add orchestral elements to my music. I also do professional work on soundtracks for movie trailers, corporate presentations, and the like.
    So far they have been limited to whatever I can creatively mangle together with synthesis, sampling, etc.

SO to the point. I am looking for an expressive, relatively realistic sample library. I don't think I'll be needing incredible finesse in general classical compositions; no, instead I am looking for the expressive arco strings, string tremolos, brass swells, (i'm not good in my classical terminology) things you hear in soundtracks for action movies and such. Epic sounding orchestra.

I have looked around and the 2-3 options I found that suit my general budget are these products:

- East West QLSO Silver
    - East West QLSO Silver Pro XP
    - Garritan Personal Orchestra

Can anyone advise me on which of these may sound like it can suit my needs?
    Does GPO have as much bang-for-the-buck as the QLSO expansion, for half the price??
    Are any of these sample libraries cumbersome to use compared to the other?